Underage DUI A Defense You Can Trust

Atlanta Underage DUI Attorney

Understanding Georgia's "Zero Tolerance" Law

In the state of Georgia, it is illegal for a minor under the age of 21 to operate a motor vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. Although the state's underage drinking laws are more lenient than others—since a minor can lawfully consume alcohol in their own home with their parents' consent—lawmakers have taken a steadfast, "zero tolerance" approach to underage drinking and driving.

For this reason, a minor could face serious legal penalties if it is discovered that they have been driving with a blood-alcohol concentration (BAC) or .02% or greater. If the individual's BAC is greater than .08% or they have been charged with a secondary offense, they could face even stiffer consequences. For this reason, the legal team at the Law Office of Matthew T. McNally encourages you to discuss your case with our Atlanta DUI lawyer if you are facing similar charges.

What are the penalties for an underage DUI conviction in Atlanta, GA?

Although the underage DUI laws in Georgia are not as strict as those upheld in other parts of the U.S., the penalties that one could face if they are convicted are still quite serious. In fact, a minor could be sentenced to a minimum of 10 days imprisonment for a first offense—although the judge will typically reduce the term to an absolute minimum of 24 hours. For this reason, you should not hesitate to enlist the help of a qualified legal professional if you, as an individual under the age of 21, have been accused of driving with a BAC of .02% or greater. You could be facing the following penalties:

First DUI Offense (BAC .02%–.08%)

  • No mandatory jail time
  • 20 hours of community service
  • Six-month license suspension
  • $300 to $1,000 in fines

First DUI Offense (BAC .08% & above)

  • Minimum of 24 hours in jail
  • 40 hours of community service
  • One-year license suspension
  • $300 to $1,000 in fines

Second DUI Offense (BAC .02% & above)

  • Minimum of 72 hours in jail
  • 30 days of community service
  • Three-year license suspension
  • $600 to $1,000 in fines

Third DUI Offense (BAC .02% & above)

  • Minimum of 15 days in jail
  • 30 days of community service
  • Five-year license revocation
  • $1,000 to $5,000 in fines

Although these are the standard penalties associated with underage DUI in Georgia, it is important to understand that you could be sentenced to a much longer term of imprisonment. Since a third or subsequent DUI arrest would be considered a "high and aggravated misdemeanor offense," it is possible that you could face up to 12 months in jail. For this reason, you should not assume that you will be granted leniency simply because you are a minor. Having a criminal conviction on your record could lead to long-lasting ramifications, so it is highly recommended that you take these charges seriously.

Contact the Law Office of Matthew T. McNally for a Free Case Evaluation

If you or your child has been charged with an underage DUI offense in Georgia, it is imperative that you act quickly to enlist the help of an Atlanta DUI attorney. Not only could you be facing time behind bars, but you may also be at risk of a tarnished criminal record. For this reason, the legal team at the Law Office of Matthew T. McNally encourages you to take the first step today by contacting our firm for a free initial consultation.

All you have to do is give us a call at (678) 918-4421 or submit a complimentary case evaluation form online.

Why You Want Matthew T. McNally
on Your Side

Your Success Is My Success
  • Payment plans available.

  • Has spent thousands of hours in court advocating for clients.

  • Will take care of you like a family member.

  • Always picks up the phone or calls you back quickly.

  • Keeps his case load small so he can devote more attention to your case.

  • Well connected in the criminal justice system.

 Protect Your Rights

Let the Law office of Matthew T. McNally safeguard your
future and your freedom. Schedule a Free Consultation.
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.