Attention clients:
Due to recommended COVID-19 procedure, our office is available for free video and telephone consults. We are set up to represent you remotely and, upon request, will conduct in person consultations.

Call Today 678.918.4421
Atlanta Criminal Defense Attorney
Financing and Payment Plans Available

Charged for Driving with an Expired License in Atlanta?

Defense from Our Atlanta Expired License Lawyer

In Georgia, driving without a license or driving with an expired license is a criminal offense. More serious than an infraction, which is punishable by fine only, driving on an expired license may be punishable by imprisonment in county jail, fines, and more. For the best opportunity of avoiding serious criminal repercussions, it is crucial that you consult a lawyer as soon as possible.

To ensure that your rights are protected and you have the opportunity to avoid a conviction for this traffic violation, contact Atlanta traffic ticket attorney Matthew T. McNally today. The firm offers a free initial consultation to discuss your charges. By taking the time to talk to you about your legal matter and by dedicating the necessary effort and resources to your legal counsel, attorney McNally and his team can positively impact your future.

Impact of the Offense of Driving on an Expired License

A driver may decide to drive even though his or her license is expired out of necessity or emergency. Also, it may frequently occur that drivers are unaware their licenses have expired and so will drive without even knowing that they may be breaking the law. In these situations, your attorney should carefully review all aspects of your case in order to determine exactly how to build the most effective defense strategy.

For example, what if an investigation uncovered an error in mailing your driver's license renewal information or notice that your license was expiring? Any factor such as this, however small, may be used by an attorney to strengthen your case.

Grace Period for Expired License in Georgia

A drivers license in Georgia may be renewed up to 150 days before the expiration date. If your driver's license expired and it has been under 2 years, you can renew without having to re-take the driving test. If your license has been expired for 2 years or more, then you will be required to pass the following tests: road signs, road rules, behind-the-wheel test, and eye test.

Challenging Your Citation

The Law Office of Matthew T. McNally is here to help you challenge your citation or charges involving driving on an expired license. Let us talk to you about your case and determine how we can best assist you.

Contact us today to talk to Atlanta traffic offenses lawyer Matthew McNally about your case.

Internet Marketing Experts The information on this website is for general information purposes only. Nothing on this site should be taken as legal advice for any individual case or situation. This information is not intended to create, and receipt or viewing does not constitute, an attorney-client relationship.